Appendix A

Appointment to Vacant Positions on Committees and Other Fora and other revisions

Town Chair and Vice Chair Positions (2019/2020)

(Lab 6)

Oldbury

S Davies (Deputy: R Jones)

Rowley Regis

Ashman (Deputy: Mabena)

Smethwick

Ahmed (Deputy: Bawa)

Tipton

I Jones (Deputy: Chidley)

Wednesbury

O Jones (Deputy: Simms)

West Bromwich

Melia (Deputy: E A Giles)

(Deputy: McVittie)

Planning Committee (2019/2020)

(16 members to be geographically representative) (Lab 15) (Opp 1)

Chair Downing
Vice-Chair Hevican

Ahmed Allen Chidley S Davies Dhallu M Hussain

Mabena Millar Rouf Shackleton

Snackiet Simms Taylor Trow

White (Opp)

Emergency Committee (2019/2020)

(7 members) (Lab 6 Opp 1)

Chair Leader (Y Davies)

Vice-Chair Ali

Hadley Crompton Khatun

Moore (Scrutiny Chair)

White (Opp)

Ethical Standards and Member Development Committee(2019/2020)

(8 elected members)

(Lab 7 Opp 1) + 3 independent persons

Chair Lewis

Vice-Chair Ahmed

Akhter Dhallu Hevican Horton Simms

White (Opp)

(+ 3 independent persons)

Audit and Risk Assurance Committee (2019/2020)

(7 members) + 3 independent members (Lab 6 Opp 1)

Chair Bostan

Vice Chair Mr Ager (Independent Member)

Allen

M Y Hussain

Jarvis Moore Preece

White (Opp)

(+2 independent members)

Select Committee for Electoral Participation (2019/2020)

(5 members + 1 Co-opted) (Lab 4 Opp 1)

Chair Melia

E A Giles Hadley P Hughes

Cherrington (Opp)

Adrian Bailey MP

Select Committee for Policy Review (2019/2020)

(7 members (Lab 6 Opp	s) 1)	
Chair	Vacant	
	Vacant (Opp)	

Chief Officer Terms and Conditions Committee (2019/2020)

(7 members) (Lab 6 Opp 1)

Chair Leader (Y Davies)

Vice-Chair Deputy Leader (Khatun)

Plus four members drawn from the following:-

Cabinet Members or chairs or vice-chairs of relevant boards/committees/panels.

1 x White

Chief Officers Terms and Conditions Appointments Sub-Committee

Leader plus opposition member + one member selected by the Chair from Cabinet Members and Scrutiny Chairs to deal with appointments to and the determination of matters relating to posts designated as service manager tier 2.

Governance and Constitution Review Committee (2019/2020)

(8 members) (Lab 7 Opp 1)

Chair Leader (Y Davies)

Ali

Bostan Crompton I Jones Lewis Rollins

White (Opp)

Adoption Panel (2019/2020)

No appointment necessary – superseded by Regional Adoption Agency arrangements

Fostering Panel (2019/2020)

Costigan

Scrutiny Boards (2019/2020)

Budget and Corporate Scrutiny Management Board

(5 members) (Lab 4) (1 Opp)

Chair

Chair appointed on rotational basis as

follows:-

1st - E M Giles (5 June

- 31st August) 2nd - Moore (1 September – 30 November) 3rd - Rollins (1 December – 29

February)

4th - Singh (1 March -

18 May)

Four Scrutiny Board

Chairs:-

E M Giles Moore Rollins Singh

White (Opp)

Children's Services and Education Scrutiny Board

(11 members + 4 co-opted members) (Lab 10 Opp 1)

Chair Singh Vice-Chair Preece

Vice-Chair no appointment

Allen
Ashman
Carmichael
Costigan
Z Hussain
McVittie
Phillips
Chidley

Webb (Opp)

1 Church of England Diocese representative (Reverend P French)

1 Roman Catholic Archdiocese representative

2 Parent Governor representatives

Scrutiny Boards (cont) (2019/2020)

Economy, Skills, Transport and		Health and Adult Social Care	
Environment Scrutiny Board		Scrutiny Board	
(11 members)		(11 members)	
(Lab 10 Opp 1)		(Lab 10 Opp 1)	
Chair	Rollins	Chair	Elaine Giles
Vice-Chair	Sandars	Vice-Chair	Piper
Vice-Chair	no appointment	Vice-Chair	no appointment
	Allcock Crumpton Eaves L Giles Hackett M Hussain Padda Worsey Cherrington (Opp)		Carmichael Costigan Jarvis R Jones Kausar Phillips Hartwell Tranter White (Opp)

Scrutiny Boards (cont) (2019/2020)

Safer Neighbourhoods and Active Communities Scrutiny Board

(11 members + 1 co-opted member) (Lab 10 Opp 1)

Chair Moore

Vice-Chair Pam Hughes
Vice-Chair no appointment

Akhter Bawa Bostan Edwards M Gill

M Y Hussain

S Jones Padda

Cherrington (Opp)

1 Co-opted member

Licensing Committee (2019/2020)

(15 non-Executive members)

(Lab 14 Opp 1)

Chair Allen

Vice-Chair Rouf

Vice-Chair S Davies

Crumpton
Dhallu
Downing
Eaves
E M Giles
L Giles
G Gill
I Jones
O Jones
Moore
Preece

Cherrington (Opp)

General Purposes and Arbitration Committee (2019/2020)

(7 non-Executive members)

(Lab 6 Opp 1)

Chair Dhallu

Vice-Chair Z Hussain

Crumpton
E A Giles
P M Hughes

Melia

White (Opp)

Joint Consultative Panel (2019/2020)

(6 members) (Lab 5 Opp 1)

Chair Ali

Horton M Hussain Taylor Tranter

White (Opp)

Land and Asset Management Committee (2019/2020)

(7 members) (Lab 6 Opp 1)	
Chair	vacant
	vacant vacant vacant vacant vacant vacant
	White (Opp)

Cabinet Advisor (formerly Member Champion) (2019/2020)

(Lab 6)

Allcock (Housing)

G Gill (Adult Social Care and Health)

M Hussain (Transport and Community Cohesion)

S Jones (Community and Neighbourhood Development)

Padda (Children and Young People)

Worsey (Community Wealth Building)

Sandwell Sport and Leisure Built Facilities Strategy Steering Group (2019/2020)

5 members) (Lab 4 Opp 1)

Chair Leader (Y Davies)

Ahmed Melia S Davies

White (Opp)

Commonwealth Games 2022 Steering Group (2019/2020)

(5 members) (Lab 4 Opp 1)

Chair Leader (Y Davies)

Crompton

Ali M Gill

White (Opp)

Appointments made by the Executive (Council to note)

Health and Wellbeing Board (2019/2020)

(4 members) (Lab 4)

Leader of the Council (Y Davies)

Cabinet Member for Best Start in Life (Underhill)

Cabinet Member for Living Healthy Lives (Shaeen)

Cabinet Member for Homes (Hadley)

Non voting members:

Chair - Health & Adult Social Care Scrutiny Board

Chair – Children's Services & Education Scrutiny Board

Other Board members as agreed by Council:-

NHS Commissioning Board:

One representative of the NHS England - Birmingham, Solihull and the Black Country Area Team (without voting rights)

Sandwell and West Birmingham Clinical Commissioning Group:

Four representatives (three with voting rights and one without voting rights)

Healthwatch Sandwell:

One representative (with voting rights)

Black Country Partnership NHS Foundation Trust (without voting rights)

One representative of West Midlands Police (without voting rights)

One representative of West Midlands Fire and Rescue Service (without voting rights)

One representative of Sandwell Council of Voluntary Organisations (without voting rights)

Sandwell and West Birmingham Hospital Trust (without voting rights)

Sandwell and Birmingham Hospital Trust (without voting rights)

Strategic Waste Partnership Board (2019/2020)

(3 members) (Lab 3)

Leader of the Council (Y Davies)
Cabinet Member for Safer Communities (Crompton)
Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Community
Engagement (Khatun)

(and representatives of Serco)

Cabinet Petitions Committee 2019/2020)

(8 members) (Lab 8)

Chair Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Community

Engagement (Khatun)

Members of the Cabinet x 7